md
Installing Free Pascal et Lazarus on Linux with FPCUPdeluxe
October 30, 20180
<-Installing Ubuntu 18.04.1 (in French) Installing Ubuntu 18.04.1, aditions and adjustements (in French)->
<-Updating Free Pascal and Lazarus with fpcupdeluxe on Ubuntu 17.10

Back in February, I updated an installation of the Free Pascal compiler and the Lazarus IDE using with the codebot script from getlazarus running on Ubuntu 17.10. In August, I installed the same programming environment but this time with the FPCUPdeluxe utility after upgrading Ubuntu to version 18.04. And yesterday, it is the most recent versions of Free Pascal and Lazarus that I added to a laptop whose operating system is Mint 19. As the later is almost identical to Ubuntu 18.04, the procedure described below is the same.

On the first attempt at using FPCUPdeluxe I made an error that necessitated a complete reinstallation of the freshly installed Ubuntu 18.04 operating system. If you want to see what not to do, you can read the initial version of this post.

Table of Content

  1. Obtaining FPCUPdeluxe
  2. Requirements
  3. Installing Free Pascal and Lazarus

Obtaining PFCUPdeluxe toc

Free Pascal and the Lazarus IDE are not available in the Ubuntu Software application, but version 3.0.4 of the compiler and version 1.8.2 of the IDE can be installed with synaptic (or apt-get). However, these are not the most recent versions. Currently, version 3.3.1 of the compiler and 2.1.0 of the IDE are available. Traditionally, the latest version of some open software not available from the software store is installed by compiling the source code. This is somewhat more complicted here, because much of what we want is written in Free Pascal.

I have installed everything from the source in the past, and it was not easy. I prefer to rely on a utility like FPCUPdeluxe. Its executable is obtained from the repository https://github.com/newpascal/fpcupdeluxe/releases. There are several versions, you must make sure to get the latest that is compatible with the operating system. Consequently, I downloaded version v1.6.2e of fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux yesterday.

The downloaded binary file is not marked as executable. This can easily be done by right-clicking on the utility name in Files to display its Properties. The check the option the Allow executing file as program option in the Permissions tab. It can also be done with the command chmod in a terminal.

michel@hp:~/Téléchargements/Lazarus$ chmod +x fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux

Requirements toc

When I pressed the Trunk button in the FPCUPdeluxe utility to get the latest versions of the compiler and IDE, the following error message was displayed.

fpcupdeluxe: info: 30-10-18 10:29:22: fpcupdeluxe: V064 (20181021) started. fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: Missing library: fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libX11.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libpango-1.0.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libgdk-x11-2.0.so fpcupdeluxe: WARNING: You need to install at least libx11-dev libgtk2.0-dev libcairo2-dev libpango1.0-dev libxtst-dev libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev libatk1.0-dev libghc-x11-dev to build Lazarus !! fpcupdeluxe: WARNING: Make, binutils, subversion/svn [and gdb] are also required !! fpcupdeluxe: info: FPCNativeInstaller (CleanModule: FPC): No FPC source [yet] ... nothing to be done fpcupdeluxe: info: make is not a valid make application (make result code was: -1)

Following the suggestion, I installed all the libraries plus an additional one needed for the bgrabitmap package that I want to include in the IDE.

michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install libx11-dev libgtk2.0-dev libcairo2-dev \ > libpango1.0-dev libxtst-dev libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev libatk1.0-dev \ > libghc-x11-dev libgl1-mesa-dev

I also added the three main version control programs even if the utility said it only needed Subversion.

michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install git mercurial subversion

As far as Make is concerned, I verified that it was missing, and that installing build-essential was required. On the other hand, the principal tools in Binutils, ld and as, as well as the GNU Project Debugger.

michel@hp:~$ which ld /usr/bin/ld michel@hp:~$ which as /usr/bin/as michel@hp:~$ which gdb /usr/bin/gdb michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential

The web page of the repository contains details about the utilitity's prequisites.

Installer Free Pascal et Lazarus toc

After installing the requirements, all that needed to be done was to click on the Trunk button and to wait as the utility suggest, because it takes a considerable amount of time to compile the compiler Free Pascal and the Lazarus IDE. Luckily, everything worked correctly.

When first started, the Lazarus IDE is displayed in classic fashion: with numerous independant windows.

Lazarus IDE with multiple independant windows

I do not like dealing with a phletora of windows, so I added the anchordocking package with fpcupdeluxe.

Adding component with FCPUPdeluxe

The image shown below shows the appearance of the IDE after installing the component and modifying a few options. The form editor is behind the code editor. The tabs at the bottom of the editors are used to select one of them.

Lazarus IDE with single docked window

In a similar fashion, I installed other packages such as bgrabitmap, dcpcrypt, Synapse et virtualtreeview.

<-Installing Ubuntu 18.04.1 (in French) Installing Ubuntu 18.04.1, aditions and adjustements (in French)->
<-Updating Free Pascal and Lazarus with fpcupdeluxe on Ubuntu 17.10

md
Installer Free Pascal et Lazarus sur Linux avec FPCUPdeluxe
2018-10-30
<-Installation de Ubuntu 18.04.1 Installation de Ubuntu 18.04.1, ajouts et ajustements->
<-Updating Free Pascal and Lazarus with fpcupdeluxe on Ubuntu 17.10

En février, j'ai mis à jour le compilateur Free Pascal et l'environnent de développent intégré (EDI) Lazarus avec le script codebot de getlazarus sur un ordinateur dont le système d'exploitation était Ubuntu 17.10. En août, j'ai installé le même environnement de programmation, mais cette fois avec l'utilitaire FPCUPdeluxe après une mise à jour de Ubuntu vers la version 18.04. Et hier, ce sont les plus récentes versions de Free Pascal et Lazarus que j'ai ajouté à un ordinateur portable dont le système d'exploitation est Mint 19. Ce dernier est pratiquement identique à Ubuntu 18.04, alors la procédure décrite ci-dessous était la même.

Au cours de la première utilisation de FPCUPdeluxe j'ai commis une erreur qui a rendu nécessaire une réinstallation complète du système d'exploitation Ubuntu 18.04 fraîchement installé. Si l'on veut voir ce qu'il ne faut pas faire, on peut lire l' ancienne version de ce billet.

Table des matières

  1. Obtenir FPCUPdeluxe
  2. Installation préalable
  3. Installer Free Pascal et Lazarus

Obtenir PFCUPdeluxe toc

Logiciels Ubuntu ne prend pas en charge Free Pascal et l'EDI Lazarus, mais on peut installer la version 3.0.4 du compilateur et la version 1.8.2 de l'EDI avec synaptic (ou apt-get). Cependant, ce ne sont pas les versions les plus récentes qui sont les versions 3.3.1 pour le compilateur et 2.1.0 pour l'EDI. Traditionnellement, on installe la plus récente version à partir du code source ce qui est un peu complexe ici, car une bonne partie de ce que l'on désire est écrite en Free Pascal.

J'ai déjà installé le tout à partir de la source, et ce ne fut pas simple. Je préfère m'en remettre à un utilitaire tel FPCUPdeluxe. On obtient le fichier exécutable du dépôt https://github.com/newpascal/fpcupdeluxe/releases. Il y a plusieurs versions, il faut s'assurer d'obtenir la plus récente qui soit compatible avec le système d'exploitation. Conséquemment, j'ai téléchargé la version v1.6.2e de fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux hier.

Le fichier binaire téléchargé n'est pas marqué comme exécutable. On peut le faire facilement en cliquant avec le bouton droit de la souris sur le nom de l'utilitaire dans Fichiers pour afficher ses Propriétés. Il faut alors activer l'option Autorister l'exécution du fichier comme un programme dans l'onglet Permissions. On peut aussi le faire avec la commande chmod dans un terminal.

michel@hp:~/Téléchargements/Lazarus$ chmod +x fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux

Installation préalable toc

Lorsque j'ai appuyé sur le bouton Trunk dans l'utilitaire FPCUPdeluxe pour obtenir les dernières versions du compilateur et de l'EDI, le message d'erreur suivant a été affiché.

fpcupdeluxe: info: 30-10-18 10:29:22: fpcupdeluxe: V064 (20181021) started. fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: Missing library: fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libX11.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libpango-1.0.so fpcupdeluxe: ERROR: libgdk-x11-2.0.so fpcupdeluxe: WARNING: You need to install at least libx11-dev libgtk2.0-dev libcairo2-dev libpango1.0-dev libxtst-dev libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev libatk1.0-dev libghc-x11-dev to build Lazarus !! fpcupdeluxe: WARNING: Make, binutils, subversion/svn [and gdb] are also required !! fpcupdeluxe: info: FPCNativeInstaller (CleanModule: FPC): No FPC source [yet] ... nothing to be done fpcupdeluxe: info: make is not a valid make application (make result code was: -1)

J'ai donc installé toutes les bibliothèques suggérées plus une autre nécessaire pour le paquet bgrabitmap que je veux inclure dans l'EDI.

michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install libx11-dev libgtk2.0-dev libcairo2-dev \ > libpango1.0-dev libxtst-dev libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev libatk1.0-dev \ > libghc-x11-dev libgl1-mesa-dev

J'ai aussi ajouté les trois principaux logiciels de contrôle de version alors que l'utilitaire dit n'avoir besoin que de Subversion.

michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install git mercurial subversion

Pour ce qui est de Make j'ai vérifié qu'il n'était pas présent et qu'il fallait installer build-essential. En revanche, les outils principaux de Binutils, ld et as, étaient présents ainsi que GNU Project Debugger.

michel@hp:~$ which ld /usr/bin/ld michel@hp:~$ which as /usr/bin/as michel@hp:~$ which gdb /usr/bin/gdb michel@hp:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential

La page Web du dépôt contient des détails au sujet des conditions préalables.

Installer Free Pascal et Lazarus toc

Après l'installation préalable, il suffit de cliquer sur le bouton Trunk et attendre comme le propose l'utilitaire, car cela prend un temps considérable pour compiler le compilateur Free Pascal et l'EDI Lazarus. Heureusement, tout s'est fait sans problème.

Lorsque démarré, l'EDI Lazarus affiche tout de manière classique: dans des fenêtres séparées.

EDI Lazarus avec multiples fenêtres indépendantes

Je n'aime pas cette multitude de fenêtres, alors j'ai ajouté le paquet anchordocking avec fpcupdeluxe.

Ajout de composant avec FCPUPdeluxe

L'image ci-dessous montre l'apparence de l'EDI après l'installation de ce composant et quelques modifications des options. L'éditeur de la fiche est derrière l'éditeur de code. Les onglets situés au bas de ces éditeurs servent à les sélectionner.

EDI Lazarus avec une seule fenêtre

De la même façon j'ai installé d'autres composants dont bgrabitmap, dcpcrypt, Synapse et virtualtreeview.

<-Installation de Ubuntu 18.04.1 Installation de Ubuntu 18.04.1, ajouts et ajustements->
<-Updating Free Pascal and Lazarus with fpcupdeluxe on Ubuntu 17.10