md
Format Settings's List Separator
July 6th, 2016

Updating my mathematical expression parser to use with Free Pascal, has led me to investigate the list separator used in different locales. While Windows has such a symbol which is set according to the user’s regional setting, there is none in Linux. So how is the default list separator defined in an application running on Linux? The short answer is that the list separator is the comma ‘,’ as used in the USA and not adjusted according to the user’s locale.

The Multiplatform Programming Guide wiki, recommends including the clocale.pp unit as one of the first used unit in the application’s project file as in the following example project1.lpr file:

program project1; {$mode objfpc} uses {$IFDEF UNIX}{$IFDEF UseCThreads} cthreads, {$ENDIF} clocale, {$ENDIF} Interfaces, // this includes the LCL widgetset Forms, main { you can add units after this }; {$R *.res} begin RequireDerivedFormResource := True; Application.Initialize; Application.CreateForm(TForm1, Form1); Application.Run; end.

The clocale unit pulls in the SysUtils.pas unit which contains the DefaultFormatSettings record. That record is an initialized variable:

var DefaultFormatSettings : TFormatSettings = ( CurrencyFormat: 1; NegCurrFormat: 5; ThousandSeparator: ','; DecimalSeparator: '.'; CurrencyDecimals: 2; DateSeparator: '-'; TimeSeparator: ':'; ListSeparator: ','; ...

which is not modified in SysUtils initialization code for the Gtk2 widget set. The initialization code of unit clocale updates some fields of that record using information obtained from the operating system. Since Linux does not have a list separator, that field is unchanged.

As a consequence of this behaviour, the decimal and list separators will both be the comma ‘,’ for many users. This is what happens on my system where the locale is fr_CA. My parser cannot function with those values. As an example, consider the expression max(1.2,24.54,32.1) which returns the biggest value 32.1 with an en_UK locale. But what does max(1,2,24,54,32,1) when the comma is both decimal and list separator? My parser will return 32.1 because when creating tokens, it tries to create the biggest numbers possible. Hence 1,2 is treated as a single number and not as two separated integers. However, this is ambiguous and the user could have expected 54 or 54,32 as the answer. In Windows the list separator for fr_CA is the semicolon. The expression would have been written max(1,2;24,54;32.1) and again the result would be an unambiguous 32.1.

Consequently, I decided to modify the project file as follows:

program project1; {$mode objfpc} uses {$IFDEF UNIX}{$IFDEF UseCThreads} cthreads, {$ENDIF} clocale, {$ENDIF} Interfaces, // this includes the LCL widgetset Forms, main { you can add units after this }; {$R *.res} begin If DefaultFormatSettings.DecimalSeparator = ‘,’ then DefaultFormatSettings.ListSeparator = ‘;’. RequireDerivedFormResource := True; Application.Initialize; Application.CreateForm(TForm1, Form1); Application.Run; end.

While that solves my problem, is it creating problems for others? I investigated that question in Windows where it is relatively easy to get to the various locales’ values. The decimal separator is one of three symbols: . , /; the list separator is one of four symbols: , ; ° ? (it is not clear to me if ? is the correct symbol or an indication that it is not known). The table below summarises the data found in a recently updated Windows 10 system:

Total number of locales258
Decimal separator is ‘.’130
Decimal separator is ‘,’127
Decimal separator is ‘/’1
List separator is ‘,’67
List separator is ‘;’188
List separator is ‘°’2
List separator is ‘?’1
Decimal and list separators are ‘,’ & ‘;’121
Decimal and list separators are ‘.’ & ‘;’67
Decimal and list separators are ‘.’ & ‘,’61
Decimal and list separators are ‘,’ & ‘,’6
- other combinations3

The additional code will correctly change the list separator for 121 locales that use the comma as decimal symbol. Furthermore, it would have no impact for the 130 locales that use the period as decimal separator and the one locale that uses the slash. The correction could be seen as an “error” for 6 locales (arn_CL, en_ZA, gn_PY, quz_BO, quz_EC, vi_VN) that actually use the comma as both the list separator and decimal separator. Given the ambiguity of such a choice, I think it is an acceptable compromise.

Data: as a text file, as an XLS (Excel) file, as an ODS (LibreOffice.Calc) file.

md
Séparateur de liste
2016-07-06

La mise à jour de mon analyseur d'expression mathématique pour l'utiliser avec Free Pascal, m'a amené à enquêter sur le séparateur de liste utilisé dans différents endroits. Alors que Windows contient un symbole dont la valeur est fixée en fonction des paramètres régionaux de l'utilisateur, il n'y en a pas dans Linux. Quel est le séparateur de liste par défaut défini dans une application fonctionnant sur Linux ? La réponse est que le séparateur de liste est la virgule ',' tel qu'aux Etats-Unis et il n'est pas ajusté en fonction des paramètres régionaux sélectionnés par l'utilisateur.

Le wiki Multiplatform Programming Guide, recommande l'ajout de l'unité clocale.pp au début de la liste des unités utilisées dans le fichier du projet comme dans l'exemple suivant :

program project1; {$mode objfpc} uses {$IFDEF UNIX}{$IFDEF UseCThreads} cthreads, {$ENDIF} clocale, {$ENDIF} Interfaces, // this includes the LCL widgetset Forms, main { you can add units after this }; {$R *.res} begin RequireDerivedFormResource := True; Application.Initialize; Application.CreateForm(TForm1, Form1); Application.Run; end.

L'unité clocale importe l'unité SysUtils.pas qui contient l'enregistrement DefaultFormatSettings qui est une variable initialisée :

var DefaultFormatSettings : TFormatSettings = ( CurrencyFormat: 1; NegCurrFormat: 5; ThousandSeparator: ','; DecimalSeparator: '.'; CurrencyDecimals: 2; DateSeparator: '-'; TimeSeparator: ':'; ListSeparator: ','; ...

Dans Linux, les valeurs de cet enregistrement ne sont pas modifiées dans le code d'initialisation de l'unité SysUtils. En revanche, l'initialisation de clocale modifie certains champs de l'enregistrement en fonction d'information obtenu du système d'exploitation. Puisque Linux n'a pas de séparateur de liste, ce champs reste inchangé.

En conséquence de ce comportement, les séparateurs décimal et de liste seront tous deux la virgule ',' pour de nombreux utilisateurs. C'est justement le cas sur mon système où le locale est fr_CA. Mon analyseur ne peut pas fonctionner avec ces valeurs. À titre d'exemple, supposons que le locale soit en_UK et considérons l'expression max(1.2,24.54,32.1). Celle-ci retourne 32,1 la plus grande valeur. Mais que sera max(1,2,24,54,32,1) lorsque la virgule est à la fois symbole décimal et séparateur de liste ? Mon analyseur retournera 32,1 parce qu'il cherche à former les plus grands nombres possible. Ainsi 1,2 est traité comme un numéro unique et non pas comme deux entiers séparés. Toutefois, cela est ambigu et l'utilisateur aurait pu attendre 54 ou 54,32 comme réponse. Dans Windows le séparateur de liste pour fr_CA est le point-virgule. L'expression aurait été écrite max(1,2;24,54;32,1) et à nouveau le résultat serait, sans ambiguïté, 32,1.

Pour éviter ce problème, j'ai décidé de modifié le fichier du projet de la façon suivante 

program project1; {$mode objfpc} uses {$IFDEF UNIX}{$IFDEF UseCThreads} cthreads, {$ENDIF} clocale, {$ENDIF} Interfaces, // this includes the LCL widgetset Forms, main { you can add units after this }; {$R *.res} begin If DefaultFormatSettings.DecimalSeparator = ‘,’ then DefaultFormatSettings.ListSeparator = ‘;’. RequireDerivedFormResource := True; Application.Initialize; Application.CreateForm(TForm1, Form1); Application.Run; end.

Bien que cette démarche résout mon problème, crée-t-elle des problèmes pour les autres? J'ai étudié cette question dans Windows où il est relativement facile d'obtenir les valeurs des champs des divers locales. Trois symboles sont utilisés comme séparateur décimal : . , / alors que le séparateur de liste est l'un de quatre symboles : , ; ° ? (il n'est pas clair si ? est le bon symbole ou une indication que le symbole est inconnu). Voici les données trouvée dans Windows 10 :

Nombre de locales258
Le séparateur décimal est ‘.’130
Le séparateur décimal est ‘,’127
Le séparateur décimal est ‘/’1
Le séparateur de liste est ‘,’67
Le séparateur de liste est ‘;’188
Le séparateur de liste est ‘°’2
Le séparateur de liste est ‘?’1
Les séparateurs décimal et de liste sont ‘,’ & ‘;’121
Les séparateurs décimal et de liste sont ‘.’ & ‘;’67
Les séparateurs décimal et de liste sont ‘.’ & ‘,’61
Les séparateurs décimal et de liste sont ‘,’ & ‘,’6
- autres combinaisons3

Le code additionnel ajuste correctement le séparateur de liste pour les 121 lieux qui utilisent la virgule comme symbole décimal. En plus, il n'a pas d'impact pour les 130 lieux qui utilisent le point comme séparateur décimal et le seul endroit qui utilise la barre oblique. La correction pourrait être considérée comme une «erreur» pour 6 lieux (Arn_CL, en_ZA, gn_PY, quz_BO, quz_EC, vi_VN) qui utilisent effectivement la virgule à la fois comme séparateur de liste et comme séparateur décimal. Compte tenu de l'ambiguïté d'un tel choix, je pense que l'ajustement proposé est un compromis acceptable.

Données: comme fichier texte, comme fichier XLS (Excel), et comme fichier ODS (LibreOffice.Calc).